National Mission Authority (NMA)

NMA has been constituted by MHRD under the chairpersonship of Union minister of HRD. Joint Secretary (JS-HE) is the Member Secretary of the Apex body. Following are the other members of the NMA:

  • Member- Planning Commission (In-Charge- Higher Education).
  • Vice-Chairperson- Secretary, Dept. of Higher Education, MHRD.
  • Chairperson- UGC.
  • Chairperson- AICTE.
  • Chairperson of the SHEC’s of all States.
  • Three experts in field of Higher Education.
  • Financial advisor to MHRD.
  • Secretary- Agriculture.
  • Secretary- Health.
  • Secretary- S&T.
  • Secretary- Sports.
  • Representative of Ministry of Finance.


NMA provides guidance for overall policy and planning and reviews the functioning of PAB. It also allocates funds to PAB. It also commissions evaluation studies for policy reforms. NMA meets once in six months.