Assessment is the performance evaluation of an institution or its units based on certain established criteria.

Accreditation is the certification of quality for a fixed period, which in the case of NAAC is five years.

Presently, NAAC is undertaking the evaluation of the overall functioning of the institution which comprises of the governance structure and all its academic units i.e., Schools, Departments and Centres , based on  identified criteria. This is referred to as institutional accreditation.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) through a gazette notification dated 19th January 2013, has made it mandatory for Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) to undergo accreditation.

Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) which have a record of at least  two batches of students graduated or been in existence for six years, whichever is earlier, are eligible to apply for the process of Assessment and Accreditation (A&A) of NAAC. For more specific details the website may be referred to.

When an institution undergoes the accreditation process for the first time it is referred to as cycle 1 and the consecutive five year periods as cycle 2, 3, etc. The process in each cycle is similar except that from cycle 2, the frame of reference includes the impact of the last assessment and the consequential quality improvement as reflected in the AQARs submitted over the 4year post accreditation period.

The process for assessment and accreditation broadly consists of:

1. Online submission of Institutional Information for Quality Assessment (IIQA) and Self-Study Report (SSR).

2. Data Validation and Verification (DVV) by NAAC.

3. Student Satisfaction Survey(SSS) by NAAC.

4. Peer Team Visit.

5. Institutional Grading.

IIQA is a process which ascertains whether an institution is “accreditation ready" or not. Eligible HEIs seeking A&A are required to submit Institutional Information for Quality Assessment (IIQA) online. NAAC will communicate to the HEI’s about the acceptance/rejection within 10 days from the date of receipt of IIQA application.

The purpose of the IIQA process is 

·To ascertain the eligibility of the institution for comprehensive assessment and accreditation by NAAC. To ensure that the applicant institutions fulfills statutory requirements of  agencies which govern it.

Yes, the IIQA process is mandatory for all institutions.

The IIQA applications are accepted round the year.

The eligibility conditions are as follows:

  • IQAC to be functional.
  • Timely submission of AQARs annually. Regular submission of AQARs annually
  • Institutions to submit IIQA, six months before the expiry of the accreditation status.

Other steps remain the same as first cycle